forum home kr home

Kidrobot Discussion Boards

Welcome to the best place on the web to talk about urban vinyl toys, plush, mini-figures, toy-art, toy artists, collecting, customs, & more!

It is currently Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:39 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:23 pm 

I must admit I'm new to this, but here are some shots of me deconstructing some dunnys to turn into customs. I'm a very visual person myself, and I'm sure other newbies are too, so at my last .. custom prepping massacre ... I took some pics to help others new to the customization world see how I do it.

Time to get Fried
First I heat them up with a hair dryer to make them nice and soft, makes it easier to pop them little heads off!

Momma had a baby and its head popped off
warm soft vinyl + small flat-head screwdriver

POP!

Heads above the rest

Headless army

Killzone

Choosing a victim

Supplies
Now little Tado is gonna help me show you how to strip the paint off.
Supplies: Acetone, a glass container (shot glass) to pour the acetone in while using it. (plastic cups get melty, metal cup would work too) Cotton pads, and I put it all on tin foil so it's easier to just wad up and throw away and it doesn't eat my plastic tray. (Be careful with the acetone, not only does it strip paint offa dunnys but off of your nice furniture too!, also make sure to open up a window, it does smell a bit and can make you lightheaded) (Acetone is found in most nail polish removers, can be bought in art stores/hardware stores, or sometimes in the home and beauty department of your local general store with the nail polish removers)

Oh Noes!
Dip, squeeze out excess and wipe

Getting there
Tip. use a clean cotton pad as often as you can.. reusing the dirty ones will just smear the paint around. (This is after just one swipe of the acetone cotton pad)

Faceless

Almost done

from Tado.. to Tada!
And now we have a nice clean dunny ready to prime, paint and bend to your will!